The Mistress Of Spices | Coco Mademoiselle EDP by Chanel: Review

After a couple of years of not having a great nose for fragrances, I married this man who was an absolute fragrance fanatic ( I mean it in a very nice way). While he understood my passion for makeup, his passion for all things fragrant started to grow on me- and we mutually treat makeup and fragrances, respectively, as experiences.

My first major encounter with (a lot of) fragrances happened in Australia, at David Jones, a large-luxury department store in Sydney. After having smelled countless perfumes-coffee-repeat, we halted at the Chanel counter so I could take a whiff of my favourite perfume on him, Platinum Egoiste.

Chanel

I believed the line of Chanel fragrances were for older ladies, but my husband dragged me into smelling a couple of the ‘femme-fragrances’ and behold, I was in love at first smell.

Coco Mademoiselle by Chanel was everything an exuberant young lady can be- I hit top notes of vanilla and orange  (After greater reading I figured they were bergamot, orange, mandarin orange and orange blossom). Note- this was the first step to assessing the fragrance.

1333710358

After having dried for a while (that’s when you get middle notes) I re-smelled and got rose and jasmine- turns out it also had mimosa, which is a spicy spike to the fruity middle notes.

And the base note, that’s when the perfume has gained it’s standing on your body and emanates a constant, albeit fading, smell, I had brilliant musky, woody and spicy notes. After checking up, turns out the base notes are white musk, vetiver, vanilla, opoponax, patchouli and tonka bean. (No, I don’t know half of what these smell like, but it’s nice)

8e2f76709d992d4f4967582e20fedf10

The fragrance stayed with me for the whole day, all the time till the next morning when I went for a long shower. My dress still smelled of it even after two washes, so the stay is brilliant too.

Also, I love the packaging, it’s standard Chanel, chic, subtle, classy, minimalistic (BUT PINK! yay)- That’s a stock image of the real packaging right here.

hqdefault

Location note: 

I saw the EDP first in Sydney but was surprised with  mine from Paris. Now I feel there’s a slight alteration of the intensity of the fragrance based on where you buy it from. Australian preferences are like American fragrance preferences, they like fresh, citrusy odours. Europe. however is stronger, more intense, muskier or floral. India is milder, probably because of the climate. But depending on what you like, you can pick where you order your fragrance from.

Application Note: 

I found a few images signalling the right use of fragrances. In my experience, for women, inner thighs works well too.

Rating: 

If I could, I’d give it a 6/5. It’s brilliant

Price: 

From where you buy it, and the variant (EDT or EDP) you’d spend anywhere between INR 8,000 to INR 17,000

I have a 100ml EDP from Paris.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. RachelW says:

    Ooo this sounds amazing! What a gorgeous bottle too! 😀 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Rachel! I rather like the packaging myself 🙂

      Like

  2. One of my favorite fragrances ever! I got mine in San Francisco! In love with it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

