The Big Deal That MAC’s Ruby Woo Is

For a while now, I’ve been noticing the changing reputation that red lipsticks have been going through in the Indian space. What would probably turn more heads than there were, at a mall- some five to seven years ago seems fairly commonplace now.

Red is formal, but also makes a casual outfit pop. Red is official (if you’re dying of black and blue monotones) and red is also brilliant to make a track-suit trendy (if you’re downplaying the eyes, that is). So what can only be called a redolution- revolution, see? :P, is various renditions of red creeping into the Indian makeup space.

Now, there are reds ranging from coral tones to maroons that are even in goth shades of black, for a low risk-low return individual like me who’s only into nudes and browns, the best red is MAC’s Ruby Woo.

I’ve made a few people try it on, across various skin tones and I currently stand on my second Ruby Woo in my million plus lipstick collection, which is a fairly big deal, since my lipsticks *never* end.

Essentially, MAC’s Ruby Woo is the perfect pop, the perfect red that balances both warm and cooler skin undertones. (It has both orange and blue elements- I’ll come to that eventually) and it makes for a statement with or without a very done up rest-of-the-face.

I loved Ruby Woo so much, I even wore it for my wedding! Here’s a snap:

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_24c9

Ruby Woo’s generic Retro Matte lipper comes in a standard MAC Box with a black lipstick inside. MAC Boxes are fairly sturdy, so even if you’re ordering online from a known store, you can be assured that the contents are highly unlikely to chip or break.

Here’s what it looks like when you open the lipstick with a slight swatch (used twice) on my hand.

 

Pros:

  1. It’s brilliant colour for wheatish/ dark/ light skin
  2. It has both orange and blue undertones that pretty much suit both warmer and cooler undertones for Indian skin
  3. It has no strong smell
  4. It’s largely matte so my flying hair strands don’t cumulatively stick to my lips
  5. Doesn’t chap lips despite being matte

Cons: 

  1. Doesn’t stay for more than an hour or two at the max
  2. It doesn’t try completely so mine almost always stains my teeth

Price: 

You get it for INR 1500 at any MAC store or online on Nykaa- click here to buy

Rating: 

I’d rate it a 4.5/5 overall

Tip!:

Make it last 2x longer by sprinkling some baby powder on your lips and dabbing it off using a tissue- just press it between your lips and it won’t even stain your teeth! 😀

Happy (ruby) wooing!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. giuliainwonderland says:

    I tried ruby woo in the past, but wasn’t completely happy with the lasting of this lipstick. I’ve recently used the 714 lipstick from the Urban Decay VICE line. The color looks pretty identical on the lips but this one dries completely (obvsiously the lips feel drier) and lasts a bit longer. However ruby woo is such a classic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh woah- you know, I never knew Urban Decay did lipsticks too! That you’ve told me- I shall surely try 🙂

      Like

  2. lovskakara says:

    I agree – it is the perfect pop 🙂 ! And looks great on You 🙂 ! I will try the baby powder trick , cause for some reasons unknown my lipstick never stays on for longer than an hour 😀 ..
    https://chinupsweetie.wordpress.com/2017/05/03/questions-and-answers-1/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely love! checking out your blog now 🙂 Thank you for checking mine out

      Like

  3. Everyone just needs a red lipstick in their collection. Never tried Ruby Woo, but it looks amazing on you!! Personally, I am a fan of Russian Red!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep! Russian Red is my fav right after Ruby Woo 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. womenandbeautyblogger says:

    You are looking gorgeous 😍 Btw please check out my blog I have started blogging recently 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

