DIY: Lip Exfoliation- Skincare You Forget. Juicy Chemistry LipScrub: Review

I remember being very fascinated with lip plumping back in college, and with extremely tight budgets, I really couldn’t afford a Sexy Mother Pucker Lip Plumper from Soap and Glory. Hence, I ventured out to self-plump lips using house-hold products (NO, I did not use haldi or chandan here 😛 )

On this journey I discovered that lips had to be regularly exfoliated because the skin on them is much more sensitive than that on our faces and pretty much the rest of the body too. And while we did take care of all sorts of facials (no, please, !!!)- we forgot to take care of our lips, except during winters, when we dab ourselves with occasional lip balm during chapped or severely chapped days.

Here’s a 5 minute routine you could add to your mornings or late nights, preferably after whenever you bathe, that’ll add to your lip health!

I just purchased Juicy Chemisty’s Lemon and Spearmint LipScrub off Amazon and being a tiny container that it is, it came in a rather large package. So this was my first shot with the product, and the tiny 10 gm of lip scrub smelled rather lovely and citrusy when I popped it open.

IMG_3177

On my finger, the consistency was sugary and creamy at the same time- always good to retain the moisture on your lips with an oil base of a lip scrub. More pros and cons later!

Since I am fairly familiar with how lip scrubs function, I waited till I was done with my bath, and here was my routine.

Step One: Moisten your lips with water, and pat-not-completely-dry them (note: hair wet, because I do this after my bath every time, alternatively- wash your face with warm water and continue- it softens the lip skin)

IMG_3181

Step Two: Pull out a tiny dollop of lip scrub on your finger

IMG_3185

Step Three: Slather it on your lips and massage with your finger

IMG_3186

 

Step Four: Use an old toothbrush that is still clean and rub it on your lips in circles

IMG_3187

 

Step Five: Another quick finger scrub and you can wash off the scrub

IMG_3188

 

Step Six: Coat your lips with lip balm/ cream- I use Jojoba Oil because I love the hydration

IMG_3189

Ta-da!

Pros of Juicy Chemistry’s Lemon and Spearmint Lip Scrub: 

  1. It smells amazing
  2. It has an oily base that helps retain the moisture
  3. It clarifies the skin around the lips too
  4. Visible results after the first use
  5. Plumps lips too- albeit for 20 minutes after use
  6. Easy on the pocket
  7. Usable daily

Cons of Juicy Chemistry’s Lemon and Spearmint Lip Scrub: 

  1. It isn’t easily available

Click here to buy

Price: INR 200 for 10 gms

Rating: 4/5 stars

Pro- tip: Plump your lips 2x using this routine before applying a lip plumper 😀

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Never exfoliated my lips before! Will have to try this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yay! 🙂 Do, please

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

